Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2010, 02:35 AM - 47 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Its my way or the highway

This is about the Nikon/Canon/Pentax jumping ship at the sight of a body people.

Dear fellow Pentaxians.
I am a working professional photographer that lives in a country called Bulgaria. I have my own strobe studio that I use for portraiture, I shoot weddings, parties and other events. I am waiting for my big break into serious work (yes I do not consider weddings to be what I want to be doing). Above all these things I became a professional photographer because I really love doing it for myself.
I have a self taught background and really loved processing my own B&W work. It was a real pleasure!!!!!
Now I earn the equivalent of $250 dollars per wedding......and I am expensive here!!!!
Despite all the limitations of my equipment, I am able to pull of good results... better than those with full frame Nikons and Canons around me. They pride themselves on equipment and often sneer at mine.
I am under no illusion that If I were to use a more professional tool than my K20D and K10D combo I would get better results! But I can not afford two systems. You see, I am besotted with the Joy of photography. I love to take pictures!!!! Not so much process them. I know I get that from my Pentax K20D.
Its really sad that a lot of people are so struck by the specs and price of the D7000. The K-7 is described by all of its owners with words more akin to a friend than a tool.

I recently saw the DPREVIEW description of the K-7 against the D7000.
"The Pentax K7, which has slipped into the D7000's class by virtue of its current asking price, combines handling qualities of both the D7000 and the two Canons, and is arguably one of the most pleasant DSLRs of its type to hold and use."
The key word is also the last one. "USE"

I read a couple of comment that Nikon has won this round, or has beaten Pentax.