Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2007, 08:49 PM   #1

Lens Suggestion for Wedding/Portraits?

I'm still very new to DSLR and photography in general. I have a K100D with the kit 18-55mm lens and the 50-200mm lens. I'm going to a friend's wedding in October and was wondering what is the best lens for the price for shooting indoors and portraits? I'm on a tight budget so anything around the $150 and less range would work.

I found this SMCP-FA J 28-80mm lens at BHPhoto. Is this lens any good?

Link: 28-80mm

Your suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

09-04-2007, 09:00 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by synnyster Quote
I found this SMCP-FA J 28-80mm lens at BHPhoto. Is this lens any good?

The 'J' in the name actually stands for 'Junk'.

If I were you I would hunt for a 50/1.4, preferably an auto focus FA version, but if you practice with manual focusing the A version could work as well. If you hunt hard enough you should be able to find one for around $150. (Maybe.)

Really convenient and good quality wedding lenses are the 28-70(ish)/2.8 lenses, and both Sigma and Tamron (as well as Pentax) make excellent optics in that range. I think they are more than $150 though.
09-04-2007, 09:55 PM   #3

Smc A 50 1.4

Hi!

I have this lens if you are interested.

Thanks

tasha
09-04-2007, 11:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I have a K100D with the kit 18-55mm lens and the 50-200mm lens. I'm going to a friend's wedding in October and was wondering what is the best lens for the price for shooting indoors and portraits? I'm on a tight budget so anything around the $150 and less range would work.
er- how about not spending any money?

The 18-55 zoom probably will do about 80% - because it has the coverage of equivalent 27-82.5mm which is great for group shots at the wider angles (probably do lots of those), and 1/2 length to 1/3 head and shoulders "portrait" shots at the longer end.