Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-21-2010, 09:29 PM   #1
Forum Member

K-5 vs K-R

I'm relatively new to Pentax; currently using K-7 & K100 Super. Dual system user--also have Nikon D80. Love Pentax's primes (43mm & 77mm), and in-body VR. Not so impressed with high ISO & slower autofocus. Sometimes think I should go back to Nikon, especially now trying to get into event photography.
Question--would you expect K-r to have comparable autofocus to K-5? If this question has already been addressed, please forgive.

09-21-2010, 09:58 PM   #2
Veteran Member

In press release you can read that also K-r auto-focus has been updated, so it same generation as K-5, but to early to compare in details, for that you have to wait until both are reviewed in comparable situations.
09-21-2010, 10:05 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by bushwhacker09 Quote
I'm relatively new to Pentax; currently using K-7 & K100 Super. Dual system user--also have Nikon D80. Love Pentax's primes (43mm & 77mm), and in-body VR. Not so impressed with high ISO & slower autofocus. Sometimes think I should go back to Nikon, especially now trying to get into event photography.
Question--would you expect K-r to have comparable autofocus to K-5? If this question has already been addressed, please forgive.
Bushwhacker,

Yes, I expect the autofocus on the K-r will be comparable to that on the K-5, if not quite equal to.

I too have been thinking seriously about what to buy. The K-r keeps popping up to the top of my list because of its reasonable price and generally excellent specs, and then it drops back down for a fairly trivial reason, namely, the lower resolution. I might be able to overcome this objection; 12MP really is fine. It's just that I'm used to 14MP with my K20D. Decisions, decisions.