Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
09-24-2010, 05:19 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Still Learning The K20D

I've owned the K20D for a couple of years, read through the manual numerous times, like a monk with a Bible, shot it almost every day, experimented with the many options, bells and wistles, but I'm still learning neat things it will do. I'm still amazed they can put such a sophisticated, computerized bundle of possibilities into such a small package.
For instance, I just figured out a couple of days ago that when you use it on remote or delay, it automatically disables SR. Since I so often forget to turn SR off when using it on a tripod, then often forget to turn it back on when I take it off, this, to me, is another of many neat features. (If that was explained in the manual, I missed it or glossed over it.)
Now, many of you may have known that already, but maybe you can share some neat features you've discovered as well.

09-24-2010, 06:51 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This is something that took me over a year and a half to discover also. I also would constantly forget to turn SR off and if I did remember, I would forget to turn it back on when I was done. So since I discovered that, I no longer use my cable release at all. Just turn on 2-second self timer and fire away. Of course, now I forget to turn off the 2 second delay, so my first shot next time pick it up is always missed.

It really is a nice camera. Another feature that it took me awhile to pick up on was that if you work in P mode, you can manually change the aperture and the camera will adjust the shutter speed just like Av mode. Then if you adjust the shutter speed, it will adjust the aperture like your in Tv mode. I used to be constantly switching back between the two modes. Now I leave it in P almost all the time and I can take control or just let the camera do its thing depending on the shot.