Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-26-2010, 06:33 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
RAW Compression artifacts?

Since I am not sure what is causing this phenomenon, although it reminds me of a jpeg image that has been compressed. I just purchased a basic Hoya HMC UV filter and used it for the first time - never had this crop up before. Any images I took with the sky in it showed this to varying degrees, but only in RAW ( DNG), jpegs at the highest quality settings are fine. Anyone have an answer for this? I have yet to take some pictures with the filter removed in case this is the problem, seems kind of odd though. I am using FastStone to download the images if that matters. I'm fairly new to digital photography so maybe I am missing something. The camera is a K20D with the DA 16-45 lens.

Last edited by Johnny5; 09-26-2010 at 06:40 PM.
09-26-2010, 07:15 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are you referring to the streaking across the sky where it changes shades or are you talking about the dirty sensor? I would dump the filter. Your processing software may also be over compressing the RAW files when you create the JPGs. RAW files (DNG PEF) are not photos but only data to create photos. The software you use Can make a difference in output. If you want to go the freebie route, try The Gimp.

09-26-2010, 08:18 PM   #3
Site Supporter

This thread was started earlier with the same problem and same software. Maybe there was an update that broke the raw software for faststone.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/115941-k-7-banding...rsion-jpg.html
09-26-2010, 09:30 PM   #4
Pentaxian

I've seen this before. It was described to me as

"