Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-03-2010, 01:51 PM   #1

New to Pentax with K10d in hand

hi people, i am a new member of the Pentax community. can anyone recommend a good lens for my K10D? has to be good value for money because i am a student. what can i expect to pay for one and does any one have one for sale? Al my email is kigrimsby@aol.com thanks

10-03-2010, 02:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are many good lenses, only some of which will be good for you. It all depends on what you want and what you're willing to do to get there.

First questions: answer these and you'll get much better responses. How important is autofocus for you? How important is auto-exposure for you? How important is size and weight to you? How important is a fast aperture lens to you? And, last but perhaps most important, what kind of focal lengths do you use?

Not knowing anything about what you want, the kit lens--DA 18-55/3.5-5.6, in all of its varieties--is a good general purpose, low cost lens. I'd expect to pay $35-50 for one. Because of the number of them in the market, they're the best bang-for-buck lens available with autofocus. Check the "Photographic Equipment for Sale" forum here to see if anyone has something available for you.
10-03-2010, 02:13 PM   #3
Inactive Account

As JonPB said, tell us what you want to do and we'll help get you set up. Without knowing, we'll spend you into the poorhouse.

Welcome to the forums!

10-03-2010, 05:56 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by JeffJS Quote
As JonPB said, tell us what you want to do and we'll help get you set up. Without knowing, we'll spend you into the poorhouse.

Welcome to the forums!

*appalled look* We wouldn't do that! ......er wait....

*counts how many lenses I've bought & sold since I started hanging out with these people*

Okay. Maybe we would. But we'd only spend you into the poorhouse with the best of intentions!!