Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-07-2010, 05:24 PM   #1
Forum Member

specks!

There are two little dust specks somewhere and I can't for the life of me figure out where! They are not on the lens because I took that off. I do a dust check and they don't show up, but I did dust removal anyways. I lifted the mirror and cleaned the sensor, and I cleaned the viewfinder. They don't move. I'm a newbie so maybe I'm missing something?

One is right in the middle, but either hides really well in photos or doesn't show up at all that I can seem to find

10-07-2010, 05:49 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Are the specs "sharp" or blurry? If sharp, then they're most likely on either the mirror or the focusing screen. If blurry, then they're probably on the sensor. Good luck getting rid of 'em!!
10-07-2010, 09:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by chucuyuco Quote
There are two little dust specks somewhere and I can't for the life of me figure out where! They are not on the lens because I took that off. I do a dust check and they don't show up, but I did dust removal anyways. I lifted the mirror and cleaned the sensor, and I cleaned the viewfinder. They don't move. I'm a newbie so maybe I'm missing something?

One is right in the middle, but either hides really well in photos or doesn't show up at all that I can seem to find
That latter statement shows that the specks must be on the sensor. (neither mirror nor viewfinder crap can replicate in actual photo output AFAIK.)

The reason why they appear to hide in some of your pics is most likely because they've been taken at wide (low number) F stops. Check your EXIF data for that.