Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-08-2010, 08:20 AM   #1

How do I stop down my K-X?

I bought a new 50mm f/1.4 manual focus lense and the pictures are too soft when wide open at 1.4. I'm new to photography, but my understanding is I need to stop down the metering. Can someone tell me how I do this with my K-X?

I usually shoot in Auto or Portrait or Aperature priority mode and using these three, the camera chooses the proper shutter speed and ISO. Using stop down metering, is there still a shooting mode which will allow the camera to choose the correct settings for proper exposure?

10-08-2010, 08:29 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
This link should cover most you need to know. Stopping down means selecting a smaller aperture (bigger f-number)
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/110658-using-ma...x-dslrs-f.html

Last edited by Fogel70; 10-08-2010 at 09:08 AM.
10-08-2010, 08:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
No. You have to be in Manual mode first off. Then what you have to do is make sure that under your custom menu you "allow use of aperture ring." Focus and change the aperture manually. Hit the green button to force the camera to take a meter reading. The shutter/ISO should change accordingly. Finally release the shutter.
10-08-2010, 08:37 AM   #4
Veteran Member

stopping down means choosing a smaller aperture, that means a bigger 'F' number.
if your lens doesn't have the A contacts than your best choice imo is to use manual mode and using the green button you'll get the program line that you'd get had you been using P mode, but with the aperture that is set on the lens. note that iso will be manual too.
If your lens has the A setting then you should be able to use it in any mode you like and it should work properly.
a quick search will lead you to many detailed threads about this issue.

10-08-2010, 08:42 AM   #5

Original Poster
No A on the lens.