Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-10-2007, 07:14 AM   #1

K10D and 540FGZ Performed Almost Perfect!

I used my K10D and 540FGZ flash in a club setting on Thursday night. I've never done this type of photography before and this is the first time I used the 540FGZ flash, in fact I bought it earlier that day! I'm normally a manual flash/strobe person that sets all my shots up, so this was quite a test for me and the equipment. I was a little nervous after reading some stuff about how the 540 flash is inconsistent.

The K10 and 540 worked flawlessly. Set the camera to manual, 540fgz to p-ttl (sometimes with 0 flash comp and sometimes with +.5 when I was in an area where the roof was higher). Out of 350 shots, I had one shot where the flash didn't recycle fast enough, and about 5 shots were the exposure was off about a stop (still fixable), but that was mostly me still learning the meter.

Normally for something like this I would use manual focus and set the hyperfocal distance. But about half way through the event I started using AF. I was blown away by how good it worked with the AF assist light. It was very dim and out of 200 or so shots with AF, the K10D only missed 1 SHOT! Very impressive. The only other problem I had was the flash lock on the 540FGZ didn't hold the flash perfectly tight, so It came a little loose once during the shoot. I fixed it already...but that is the only problem I had! I'm coming from a D2H/D70/D40 set up and that wonderful Nikon Flash system....and I was a little worried about using the Pentax in a paid shoot...but I think it came through with flying colors!

Here are some shots!

09-10-2007, 08:05 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
What lens did you use?
09-10-2007, 08:20 AM   #3
JMI

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by vievetrick Quote
What lens did you use?

Shot the whole thing with the 16-45mm DA. That is my favorite zoom lens.
09-10-2007, 12:25 PM   #4
Veteran Member