Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-11-2007, 08:33 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Samsung GX10 or Pentax K100d

Hey guys, I'm a noob looking for some advise. I am looking to get my first DSLR. I will be using it for everything from daily snapshots to urban street photography with maybe some sports thrown in.

I am looking at the GX10 because there are some really good prices out there for it and the K100d because is just so cheap. I've read reviews for both and they seem very good. If I get the K100d I plan on getting the kit lens along with a prime like the FA 50 1.4. The price for the GX10 with 1 kit lens and the K100d with the 2 lenses should be about the same. I handled both the K10d along with the K100d at the store and they both feel really good. I am assuming that the GX10 will feel very similar to the K10d. I slightly prefer the K100d body because it's a bit lighter and more compact. So what do you think I should do?

09-12-2007, 03:29 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Go real cheap

If you want to save a lot of money and intend to learn how to use a DSLR properly, here is an off the wall recommendation. Over on the marketplace board fletcherkane has a nice M50mm f1.4 and a Tokina 70-210 for sale. Both very nice lenses and can be bought for a total of $140. Look here https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/photographers-marketplace/11770-cleaning-...gear-sale.html

You can pick up the k100D for $330 after rebate without the kit lens. Now you have a kit that is great in low light and could be sold at any time for near your purchase price if you decide to move up.

regards,

Ken
09-12-2007, 07:08 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Don't buy the Samsung!

K100D is the best buy for the bucks.