Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2010, 07:17 AM   #1

K7: Even with Manual Focus it gives off the AF beep?

Hey Guys,

I've never used manual focus on my K7 before, but I noticed when I put it in MF mode and put it into manual focus mode with my DA* lenses (only ones I have) as I'm focusing, it'll beep along with the red focus mark to tell me I'm 'in focus'

Is this normal? It's pretty neat...but seems self defeating.

10-14-2010, 07:22 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Perfectly normal, my K7, even my film Canon EOS5 does that with manual lenses.
10-14-2010, 07:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Yes, its called "focus confirmation". That way you'll know for sure that you've locked onto your subject. Also, it doesn't have to be in the center either. All focus points are available so you can manually confirm focus on subjects off to the side.
Do you know about "catch-in-focus'? Using manual lenses and setting the cam to AF-C, you can use focus confirmation to trip the shutter once it determines your subject's in focus. It's pretty neat, even though I don't use it that often.
Also, you know you can turn off the "beep" in the menu, right? It'll save your bacon if you shoot weddings!
10-14-2010, 07:48 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Daemos Quote
Hey Guys,

I've never used manual focus on my K7 before, but I noticed when I put it in MF mode and put it into manual focus mode with my DA* lenses (only ones I have) as I'm focusing, it'll beep along with the red focus mark to tell me I'm 'in focus'

I often use it as a focus aid. Its very useful, and you can always turn it off if you don't want it.

You can also do focus trapping on most DA* lenses which have an MF switch on th lens itself. Leave the camera on AF. Half press the shutter button and the camera will take the shot as soon as your manual focus gets a lock. I love this feature.

10-14-2010, 07:51 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums