Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2007, 02:42 AM   #1

DSLR lens strangeness

Hi all. New to the forum, so apologies if I don't follow etiquette or am going over something which has already been discussed (I did search first honest!). Also I hope it is OK to discuss the Samsung GX-10 as it is of course the same as the K10D.

I am new to DSLR photography and have just started a course. One of the first things we learned was about the focal length multiplier and how that affects the focal length of our lenses and how they compare to 35mm film equivalents. We learned what was a standard lens (50mm FL) and how on a DSLR, standard is more like (35mm FL). I am the only one in the class with a Samsung and I discovered that standard on my lens was about 50mm despite the 1.5x multiplication factor.

So, I did some tests using my kit 18-55 D-XENON and an older 28-80 film lens from my old Pentax MZ-5N. Setting both lenses to 28mm, the two pictures attached are almost identical. My understanding is that the digital lens should appear closer than the same focal length on the film lens because of the image circle it generates?

Has anyone else come across this or am I missing something due to my lack of understanding? It seems to me that the D-XENON lens (and presumably the Pentax equivalent is the same) are marked with their film equivalent focal lengths? The D-XENON lens definately isn't a film lens as the image circle is smaller - I put it on my MZ-5N and there is clear vignetting in the view finder when at the widest setting.

Does this perhaps explain why my kit came with both the 18-55 and the 50-200? Perhaps the next test I should do is to take the same photograph with the same apparent FL on two different cameras and compare? I would expect to see mine being wider, right?

Any thoughts gratefully accepted.

Many thanks

Attached Images

09-12-2007, 03:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Hi there and welcome.