Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-12-2007, 08:31 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
AE Metering

I'm trying to wrap my head around the various aspects of exposure with my K100D.
There are 3 metering methods to pick from - multi segment, weighted center and spot - I leave my camera set to multi-segment but was wondering if that is wise and when one should use each of the 3 metering modes - unfortunately the manual does not explain this and as a relative newbie I would like more information.

Along the same line -
Link AF Point and AE - I have indicated Yes
AE-L with AF Locked - I have indicated Yes
AE-L bttn on M expsr - not really sure what this means

Unfortunately the manual does not give practical examples of what the various settings mean or correspond to and I sometimes feel like I'm 'walking in the dark'.
Any explanations on the above would be greatly appreciated...

09-12-2007, 08:40 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by schmikey Quote
I'm trying to wrap my head around the various aspects of exposure with my K100D.
There are 3 metering methods to pick from - multi segment, weighted center and spot - I leave my camera set to multi-segment but was wondering if that is wise and when one should use each of the 3 metering modes - unfortunately the manual does not explain this and as a relative newbie I would like more information.
I think the manual has brief explanations on each of the three metering modes, please re-read :-)

> Link AF Point and AE - I have indicated Yes

With auto selected multi-point AF, the multi-segment meter will put more weight into the area(s) close to the AF point(s) which the AF system selected for the focus. This would be useful or not depending on scene and case by case.

When you choose the central AF point only, I found that this option has little impact to the metering value.

> AE-L with AF Locked - I have indicated Yes