Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-13-2007, 11:53 PM   #16
PDL
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
you have been lucky

QuoteOriginally posted by Peter Zack Quote
I have to agree with Stewart on this one. I transfer everything (work, pictures, whatever) to a backup HD as it's only in use a few hours a month and the computer is in use daily. A portable will only be in use periodically for backups and transfers and should last a long time. I've never had a fixed HD fail (computer or backup unit) and have had computers at home and work since the days of 286's. I've had 3 flash cards (2SD and 1 compact memory) fail in just the past year. I have much less faith in the SD card than the HD (in any form).

My next purchase will most likely be a Wolverine or something similar to transfer in the field as carring a bunch of SD's, risks loosing one or having to carry too many.
I work as an Administrator on about 120+ Windows servers using Compaq/Hp hardware that are between 10 years to 1 day old. The most common failure on these machines is hard drives, and I am not talking about el-cheapo IDE garbage = but 18.2 - 300GB 10-15K RPM SCSI drives. Had two fail last week and we have a cabinet full of cold spares.

Hard drives will fail - here at home I have a collection of about 5 dead HD over the years (200MB to 80GB drives). I also have a Wolverine flashpac 7000 (40GB) that I bought in 2005. I use it instead of carrying around a laptop with a DVD burner. I rarely carry my Wolverine while "in the field" since I have 9GB of SD cards in my camera bag with 4GB in reserve. I do have the Wolverine in my big bag that I use when I go through airports - I just treat it with the same respect that I would a laptop - no problem. I also have a SDHC USB reader that I got with the SanDisk 4GB card - it is in the camera bag all the time.