Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-18-2010, 07:25 AM   #1
Forum Member

K10D - In Concert!

I recently set off on a new adventure and I have been doing some concert photography. It has been a great learning experience, while a bit of a baptism of fire at the same time.

I passed the 10,000 shutter actuation mark as I was sitting at the first "proper" show so while I am not a total beginner to the camera, I am not a professional and for me it is just a fun exercise. I love music and love photography, this is a way to combine the two of them. The previous 10,000 photos were not any specific genre, just a mixed bag. Sneaking an SLR into a concert is tricky these days so although I have taken photos at shows before it was normally with a little pocket-able point and shoot (and the results tended to reflect that!). I have been "into" photography as a hobby for maybe 5 or 6 years and using the K10D for maybe 3 years.

Those who have tried taking photos at concerts probably have some idea how difficult it can be - not only is the lighting poor, but the lighting can change quickly too. One second the face of the performer is lit up light a Christmas tree, the next second it is shrouded in shadow. As if that is not difficult enough, rarely do performers stand stilll and the most interesting performers are often the ones that are fluid and animated.

Poor and unpredictable lighting with a moving subject. Nice!

I have been using two lenses:
* An old Ricoh 50mm f1.7 which is MF only.
* A not quite so old Pentax F 50mm f1.4

The Ricoh obviously has to be used in Manual mode, quickly focus, meter, shoot each shot. I have been practing my MF accuracy with this lens but to be honest I still have a lot to learn. The focus certainly seems to be easier on this lens than on the Pentax lens when using MF, just due to the ergonomics of the focusing ring. As well as being restricted to MF, I am also stuck with spot metering.