Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-01-2010, 03:28 PM   #1

K200d mirror cycles on its own - no image taken

Hi folks... recently my K200d began to "go off" by itself! I was just holding it in my hand as usual and I heard the mirror cycle as if I had pressed the shutter. I thought I'd pressed it accidentally. But no... today I went out for a few shots and the camera fired by itself a half dozen times. One time I heard it go off twice when I was actually taking a shot.

The strange thing is that it's only the mirror cycling... there is never an image taken.

I'm terrified to send it to a repair centre... horror stories about "its cheaper to buy a new camera" haunt me.

I'd love to hear from anyone else who has enjoyed this "automatic mirror" syndrome and/or anyone who has suggestions as to what might be going on. (The camera is not set on anything other than single shot, so it's not that - and I'm not a newbie to the camera - have had it for 2 years and it has about 11,000 shutter actuations on it).

Thank you.
Richard

11-01-2010, 03:54 PM   #2

You didn't happen to use RCR-v3s in it recently, did you?
11-01-2010, 04:01 PM   #3

Original Poster
I guess I'm more of a "newbie" than I thought. What the heck is an "RCR-v3s"?
If it's a battery - no. I use only Imedion 2400 mAh (hyped as the upgrade to Eneloops). They seem to work perfectly for me.
11-01-2010, 04:05 PM   #4

RCR-V3s are rechargeable 3v lithium batteries.

Popular in the k100d days and they were always overcharged by the chargers.

That's how I fried my k100d

it it's what happened to mine..... random mirror slap and aperture actuation as well as when you press ANY button on the cam, then it is not fixable.

I hear the new K-5s are pretty good

11-01-2010, 04:24 PM   #5

Original Poster
I've got the "random mirror slap" but not the "aperture actuation" you mentioned. I don't like the sounds of "not fixable" - my armpits are dampening already.