Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-03-2010, 03:02 PM   #1

Buy a used Pentax ist DL?

Hi,

As I am a beginner to photography I have some old analogue Chinon and Pentax cameras I took some shots with, but I feel that a digital camera would make it easier for me to just go around and take random shots and so forth without having to buy film and pay for developing films and such, maybe for less "artistic" photos if you understand me right.....And as I have some K-mount lenses, (eg. Tamron, Chinon) I thought of buying a used Pentax DSLR.

So my questions are:
I found a used one Pentax ist DL with the original lens 18-55 for 150-160 (1500 sek) here in Sweden (probably around 220usd?). Is this a good price and will this old model still keep up with digital photography of today? I suppose it's nothing advanced but for using my old manual lenses it should work right?

What common errors should I look for and what should I generally look out for? The problem is that this camera is a bit far from me, so I would have to send my mother to check on the camera and do the transaction as she is going to that town anyway. What can I tell my mother to immediately check for?

There is no cable and maybe not a box with the camera but they claim that the camera is lightly used and that the menus and everything works as it should and there is no problems at all. I have a card reader somewhere so shouldnt be a problem right?

What do you think?
Is this a good camera and good to use as a beginner with my old lenses?

11-03-2010, 03:36 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Sarajevo Quote
Hi,