Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-05-2010, 08:09 AM   #1

Moving from Film to Digital

Hello! I am currently studying photography as a black & white film student. Next semester I am moving into digital, and am not sure which dslr to purchase. I currently have an all Pentax/k-mount kit, and would obviously like to continue on this route. I plan to pursue a Masters in photography next year, and would like a camera that will grow with me, rather than one I will grow out of. That being said, I have researched all of the Pentax dslrs and am still torn. Ideally I would like the K-5 but it is out of my price range. I am leaning towards the K-7 due to the weatherproofing, but am still not sure. Thank you, sorry for rambling!

11-05-2010, 08:21 AM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
By next year, the K5 may Be in your price range. The K7 is a fine camera and would probably serve you well but as you know, the camera is just box to put the lenses on. So in choosing a dSLR, outline the features you want and pick the best match. Odds are None of them will be an exact fit however.

11-05-2010, 08:23 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Do you own weatherproof lenses? The weatherproofing of the K7 will only really help in the most mild conditions without a seal between the lens and the camera body. That said the K-7 will grow with you comfortably since it has phenomenal ergonomics. However, it's Achilles heel is low-light performance, where the lowly K-X blows it away. As a trade off, the K7 outperforms the KX in low ISO performance. I'm going to bet you would prefer the cleanest ISO 100 over a usable ISO 6400.