Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2010, 08:23 PM   #1

Very Specific Dilema

Hi All,

Not to beat a dead horse, but I could use some advice from people who know what they're talking about. I am a theatrical scenic design grad student and got into photography so that I could be in control of my portfolio shots. As you could imagine, capturing the correct white balance and color temperature is important, as is depicting light as it actually exists in the scene. I've gotten pretty good at appropriately exposing shots and adjusting white balance as necessary.

That being said, I've gone and saved up for a new camera. Portfolio shots are taken at what is called a photo call and the company's publicity photographer (outside hire, paid at an hourly rate) is given preference and the shoot moves along at their pace. That means that despite low light, i need to shoot hand held or with a monopod and sneak my shots in as quickly as possible.

A publicity photographer is shooting tight shots of posed performers for posters, brochures, etc. Thusly, shooting handheld at wide aperture is fine since a softened set in the background makes a very pretty picture. Also, no one actually cares if the photographs are an actual representation of the production. A set designer needs photos of the set in the context of various moments in the show as they were. A smaller aperture is preferred since i need the people, scenery, and lighting cue depicted as accurately as possible. In a perfect world I would be able to spend 2 hours walking around the 'house' setting up my tripod at taking .5- 3 second exposures.