Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-18-2010, 01:25 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K-x: 3 secs lag between picure is taken and displayed

Hi to everybody.

I'm new to the K-x and is really fine (I also have a Canon EOS 50D).

I'm asking myself if it's normal to have a 3 seconds time lag between when a picture is shot and it is previewed on the LCD. This happens in any node: JPEG and RAW+JPEG no matter the jpeg resolution.

Hope my questio is clear.

TIA

majortom

11-18-2010, 01:47 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Sounds like you may have all the corrections (chromatic aberration and lens distortion correction) turned on, and probably the Highlight Correction and Shadow Correction features turned on as well. You are asking the camera to do a lot of processing of your images before they are saved to disk. Hence the delay. The manual (p-139) advises that using these features may delay shooting speed.

The other cause may simply be a slow memory card.
11-18-2010, 01:57 PM   #3

yeah sounds like corrections to me too - recently turned them on on my k7 and thought it had broken at first lol then remembered i had changed the settings 2 days before after noticing my some CA in some images when i got home
11-18-2010, 01:58 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Chromatic aberration and Lens distortion correction enabled or not make no difference. I'm going to check now Highlight Correction and Shadow Correction.
By the way: without memory card is very fast, around 1/4 - 1/2 sec.

Thanks
majortom

11-18-2010, 02:04 PM   #5
Inactive Account

Original Poster
OK, if ANY of the above mentioned functions is enabled the lag is heavy. It is also reported on the manual. I'm sad the same processor is in the K-r...
Thanks again.
majortom
11-18-2010, 03:10 PM   #6
Pentaxian

I shoot in RAW+ and have the corrections enabled.