Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-23-2007, 07:43 PM   #1

Difference between PEF and DNG formats

I have been using my K10D for a few months and tried both the PEF and DNG formats and really can't see much difference except the file sizes. Does anyone here know what the difference is between these RAW formats?

09-23-2007, 08:42 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
There is no difference in image quality between PEF and DNG. The only difference, as you mentioned, is file size. Some prefer to shoot in DNG because of the software programs, especially Adobe programs, that are compatible with that file. Others prefer PEF due to the smaller file size for storage. It is up to you.
09-24-2007, 03:47 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Morgan... that's what I suspected but I had not read any detailed explanation in any of the photo magazines I get or on a site like this.
09-24-2007, 04:01 PM   #4

Adobe Elements can handle PEF files, if you go to the website and download the update. I assume full blown Adobe can too. Also, the DNG files apparently write faster (no time taken to compress the file, like PEF). So you can get more pictures with PEF, but slower write times.

09-24-2007, 04:21 PM   #5
Veteran Member

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-dslr-discussion/9645-pef-vs-dng-2.html

Bummer this site requires more than 3 letters for a search term. There's a little bit of conversation there about DNG vs PEF.
09-25-2007, 10:06 AM   #6
Forum Member

I switch to DNG from PEF because Adobe CS will not recognize PEF from my K10D. DS PEF's are just fine. Adobe has an update, but only for CS3. Spent all my $ on the K10D and can't afford to upgrade to CS3.
09-25-2007, 11:24 AM   #7
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by john_mantz Quote