Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-23-2010, 02:16 PM   #1

Tripod for the K-X

What's a nice tripod for the K-X that's <$100?

I bought the cheap targus one and it's not that stable.

11-23-2010, 02:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Tripods are kind of one of those things that you pay for what you get. I wouldn't buy anything new for that price. In the used market, you might look around for a Leitz Tiltall. They're really basic things, but they'll take a beating, are pretty sturdy (I've used one for a 4x5 camera before) and are fairly plentiful and cheap. Get one of the older ones...not one of the newer knock-offs.
11-23-2010, 03:08 PM   #3

For just a bit over your budget, you can get a nice solid aluminum Manfrotto that will last you a lifetime of photography. I've been using my 3021pro for more than 10 years now and I have never regretted splurging for it.

EDIT: Seems like they have replaced the 3021pro with the 055xpro, and of course, the prices have gone up
11-23-2010, 03:26 PM   #4

Original Poster
thanks guys! ghosstrider I did a little search on the tiltall and they are very interesting
billx2 yeah I've looked at manfrotto but I can't afford em right now. I guess I should start saving up more to get a really good one. Like what you guys said, you get what you pay for.

11-23-2010, 03:36 PM   #5
Veteran Member

I was in the same boat. I ended up with a Vanguard Alta Pro off Amazon for roughly $100 shipped via Cameta. I'm very pleased with it so far.
11-23-2010, 03:42 PM   #6
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Another option might be Slik sprint pro II if you don't use heavy / long lenses. This is a well built light and compact one (but as such not as sturdy as a Manfrotto 055 would be).
11-23-2010, 04:43 PM   #7

The OP is already experiencing this but this link is well worth re-posting. It may save someone from making the same mistake that a lot of us have made (myself included ).