Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-24-2010, 07:35 PM   #1

refurb K20D vs new K-x

I am new to DSLR. Currently I have a choice to either get a refurb K20D or a new K-x for around $500. Do you guys have any suggestions as which one is better? Picture quality, performance wise? Thanks!

11-24-2010, 09:38 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It depends on how much you want the extra controls on the K20. The sensor in the K-X, by all reports, is much superior to that in the K20, and the K-X will carry a new warranty.
11-24-2010, 10:24 PM - 1 Like   #3

Photos: Gallery
There are new K20's out there for around the same price, body only. A few bucks more will get you a WR 18-55 ($150 or less). Now for $650 you have a NEW camera setup that is built like a tank, weather sealed and takes excellent pictures (the Kx is superior only in terms of iso, IMO). If you can live without the Kx's mediocre video feature and plan to use the camera where WR is beneficial, I'd shop around and go with a new K20. Refurb to me is a hit or miss- what was reburb'd on the camera you'll get?. New is new and worth the $150 extra.
Nothing wrong with the Kx either, just my choice if I had to choose only one.
11-25-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I have both and unless you shoot video or shoot in a lot of low light situations, I would recommend the K20D. I wasn't as impressed with the photo quality of the K-x compared to the K20D. The focus of the K-x was faster and in low light and high ISO it can't be beat for the price, but the colors weren't as rich and the camera was not as customizable.

Don't get me wrong, the K-x is a great camera for the price. For pure photographic quality, I would go with the K20D.

11-25-2010, 06:59 PM - 1 Like   #5