Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-29-2010, 03:51 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Struggling with autofocus adjustments

I am trying to adjust my lenses on my K-5. I am coming from a k10, so this is my first time going through the process and I expect that I'm the problem more so than the equipment. I'm getting inconsistent results at different focal lengths and am leery of setting a value that ends up making things worse.

A couple of notes on what I'm doing:
  1. Using the focus chart from Yvon Bourque (45 degree chart)
  2. Using the max aperture
  3. Shooting in natural light. Wasn't super bright, but no problems locking
  4. Shooting from the minimum focusing distance- 3 times, forcing the AF to re-lock each time
  5. Reviewing the shots
  6. Making a focus adjustment in the menu
  7. Repeating as needed until the AF is on target
After competing this, I repeated the process at a distance beyond the minimum focusing distance, but not so far off that I wasn't confident of where I was locking.

My dilemma is that my both of the lenses I completed this for needed significant adjustments at the minimum focus distance (+5 for the 70 mm and +7 for the 15mm), but much smaller adjustments (+1) at the slightly further distance. My understanding is that process should be done and the minimum distance to minimize DOF, but I'm wondering if the AF is less consistent at its limits.

As a note, I'm expecting the DOF 50/50 front to back at the minimum distance and slightly shifted back from the second distance. This is based on DOF calculator for my lens, aperture, distance, etc.

Any help related to my process or comments about AF at the minimum distance would be appreciated.

11-29-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery