Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-01-2010, 11:28 PM   #1
Forum Member

Best processing software for dslr newbie

My new Xr will hopefully arrive tomorrow or next Monday. My question is what processing software is best to start with. I have zero experience in this area but come next week I will finally have my first opportunity to process my own images. I have followed many threads about it but having no hands on opportunity nothing stuck. I did note that noone seemed to use Pentax software that comes with the camera, or I assume comes with the camera.

In film days I left it up to local photo shop, which is no longer there due to the digital age and on-line camera shopping.

12-02-2010, 12:43 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Try "Scarab Darkroom".

Next, try GIMP (more advanced). Both are free.
12-02-2010, 03:15 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Start with the utility that came with the camera. Might take a while to get used to.

I use UFRAW for raw conversion and pre-processing (like crop etc); if you don't use the RAW format, it is however useless. Usually don't go further than that but next step is the GIMP.
12-02-2010, 03:39 AM   #4

You can download a 30 day trial of Adobe Lightroom, from where you can manage all of your images, and probably do all of your editing, from the one application.

Adobe Lightroom

12-02-2010, 04:45 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Ufraw, Gimp and FastStone are free combination that works (for me :-), but the two first might require quite a bit of trial and error tweaking. My idea of getting in the ballpark with them can be found here: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/digital-processing-software-printing/1239...ml#post1281387. Photoshop elements might be a budget option for more convenience, there is a 30-day trial for that as well I believe.

Last edited by jolepp; 12-02-2010 at 08:15 AM.
12-02-2010, 05:49 AM   #6
Veteran Member