Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-27-2007, 06:37 AM   #1
Not Registered

IR photography and portraits.

Hi there,

I have no experience with IR photography besides the one that I ocasionally do with laser microscopy (which has nothing to do with normal photography). I saw the post about IR in this forum and found some pictures that they are trully interesting. I was just wondering if somebody has used the IR filters for doing portraits. I know that with those filters you loose a lot of light and need long exposures, but does somebody try it with powerful ilumination? Do you think that it is possible to achieve good results with it?

Thank you in advance,

09-27-2007, 06:53 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I think you would need an IR lightsource, but then why not

Ohh. and I think you would need either a K100D, or one of the other a little more IR sensitive cameras too.

I can imagine that focus might be a challenge though

A few not portraits, but captures with people in them (best examples I have online):

09-27-2007, 02:27 PM   #3
Not Registered

QuoteOriginally posted by Duplo Quote
I think you would need an IR lightsource, but then why not

Ohh. and I think you would need either a K100D, or one of the other a little more IR sensitive cameras too.

I can imagine that focus might be a challenge though

A few not portraits, but captures with people in them (best examples I have online):
Awesome,

Looks by the shadows that it was noon-afternoon, how long was the exposure?(just to have an idea)

Thank you for the information
09-28-2007, 05:34 AM   #4
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Gruoso Quote
Awesome,

Looks by the shadows that it was noon-afternoon, how long was the exposure?(just to have an idea)

Thank you for the information
They were indeed shot around noon and in strong sunlight.

Photo 1:
0.6s @ F8 @ ISO 200

Photo 2:
1s @ f10 @ ISO 200

Both with DS and DA40 limited with a Hoya R72 filter.