Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-09-2010, 01:22 PM   #1

Pondering an upgrade from K100D

I've been shooting with my K100D since 2007. I think I'm finally ready for an upgrade, and I see a plethora of options, but I could use some help settling on a path.

Here is what is important to me:

(1) Faster AF, particularly in low light. Let's face it: for all its charms and virtue, the K100d has pretty slow AF, and in low light (i.e., natural light shots of my kids in my house), it is almost worthless. This is my most important consideration.

(2) More megapixels. I never print above 8x11, but I want the freedom to crop. Considering I shoot often at higher isos (800-1600 is very frequent), I'm pretty limited with how much I can crop. Any upgrade option will give me enough MPs, however.

(3) Good high iso jpegs. The high iso of the K100d is sufficient for my needs, but who wouldn't want better high iso if is available. I shoot 800 without hesitation with the K100d, and don't think much about going to 1600. An increase in this deparment would be good, but I could live with an upgrade that was a lateral move.

(4) I want video, but for the right price, I could live without it.

(5) Better viewfinder. Would appreciate the better viewfinder of the K20D, K7, K5 variety, but not essential or terribly important. I pretty much suck at manual focusing, and I don't think a better viewfinder will make all that much difference, but maybe I'm wrong.

(6) External controls. k100d is my only DSLR, and I have no idea if I will appreciate the better control scheme/handling of the enthusiast models. Probably, but I won't miss what I've never had.

(7) Top LCD/Focus indicators: I suspect I wouldn't care if these were missing.

Financially, I can swing a k20D, KX, KR, or K7 now or in the very near future. As much as I'd love a K5 (would tick all my boxes and keep me content for something like ever), I can't justify the price right now.