Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-20-2010, 09:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
mojoe_24's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 218
Does the Vivtar 80-200mm F4.5 lens work with the Pentax K-x?

Trying to decide whether I should pick up the kit with the 55-200mm lens or just use this one that my dad has for his old ME. Money is kinda short so any money I can save would be nice, but the 55-200mm kit is only $60 more than the 18-55mm kit.

12-20-2010, 10:07 AM   #2
Site Supporter
boriscleto's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Liverpool, NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 12,872
If it is a K-mount lens it will work on a Pentax DSLR.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-beginners-corner-q/110658-using-ma...x-dslrs-f.html

The biggest problem you might have with a Vivitar lens is the flange that protects the aperture lever. Many Vivitar lenses had a very long flange that hits the SDM connector in the lens mount. It needs to be removed or cut down to mount the lens. The lens might also have a "Ricoh" pin that can cause it to become stuck to the camera.

The first picture shows both the long flange and the Ricoh pin.






Last edited by boriscleto; 12-20-2010 at 10:13 AM.
12-20-2010, 10:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
mojoe_24's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 218
Original Poster
Thanks. If I end up having to shave stuff off, I'll probably just spend teh $60 and get the kit lens.
12-20-2010, 10:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member
Coeurdechene's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: madrid
Photos: Albums
Posts: 833
The 55-200 is a fine kit lense but if the price is not very high i would go for the 50-300...if your vivitar lens has a K mount it works on the Kx..so you might want to save those 60 dollars..I'm not sure the autofocus is worth those 60 $, you may want to skip the 55-200, try the vivitar (maybe write a review for the database?)..if you are not convinced the lens can still be bought cheap second hand...

12-20-2010, 11:17 AM   #5
Site Supporter
boriscleto's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Liverpool, NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 12,872
QuoteOriginally posted by Coeurdechene Quote
The 55-200 is a fine kit lense but if the price is not very high i would go for the 50-300...if your vivitar lens has a K mount it works on the Kx..so you might want to save those 60 dollars..I'm not sure the autofocus is worth those 60 $, you may want to skip the 55-200, try the vivitar (maybe write a review for the database?)..if you are not convinced the lens can still be bought cheap second hand...
It's 50-200 and 55-300. The 55-300 has a much better reputation than the 50-200 but it is $100 more than the 50-200 kit.
12-20-2010, 03:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
mojoe_24's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 218
Original Poster
Ended up just buying the kit with the 50-200. For $50 more it just seems like the better deal.
12-20-2010, 07:29 PM   #7
Veteran Member
BirdDude007's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas NV
Photos: Albums
Posts: 505
QuoteOriginally posted by mojoe_24 Quote
Ended up just buying the kit with the 50-200. For $50 more it just seems like the better deal.
I just got that same kit about a week ago and I am very happy with it, I also have a Vivitar 70~210 lens that was on my old ME Super and I am in the process of shaving down the aperture protector, it is aluminum and it shouldn't be that hard to shave down, I just have to be extra careful and not get any shavings down into the lens. I have used it on my K-x but it was coupled on a 2X teleconverter and actually it works pretty well.
You will really like your kit and you will be really satisfied with the K-x and the performance it produces.
also remember this about your Vivitar lens, mathematically it equals to a 300mm when it is calculated for use on an APC camera such as your K-x, so in reality don't feel short changed by not buying the 55~300 lens kit.......you have one and didn't know it.
My 210mm lens on the teleconverter actually calulates to 620mm abd believe me...it actually works just fine.
12-20-2010, 08:17 PM   #8
Pentaxian
mgvh's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MD
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 855
I have a Vivitar 80-200 F4 that I use on my K-x. (Okay lens that I mainly use for macro, but thinking of selling it...) I did need to cut down the flange, but it did not have the Ricoh pin.
There were only two screws holding the flange to the body, so I first removed the flange. Then I used metal shears to cut away most of the metal. Then used a dremel to file it down smoothly. Then touched it up w/ black. Works fine.

12-21-2010, 04:58 AM   #9
Senior Member




Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Yorkshire
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 147
Birddude007 wrote : I just have to be extra careful and not get any shavings down into the lens.
AAAGH!! Take it off first! Seriously, it's only a few seconds work and could save a lot of heartbreak.
01-10-2011, 02:48 AM   #10
Site Supporter
shiner's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N GA USA
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,458
Someone gave me this vivitar 80-200 f4, but even though he said it was PK, I don't believe it is a Pentax mount at all (not just a "flange" issue). What mount is it?







01-10-2011, 09:10 AM   #11
Site Supporter
boriscleto's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Liverpool, NY
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 12,872
QuoteOriginally posted by shiner Quote
Someone gave me this vivitar 80-200 f4, but even though he said it was PK, I don't believe it is a Pentax mount at all (not just a "flange" issue). What mount is it?
Olympus OM
01-10-2011, 05:04 PM   #12
Site Supporter
Nowhere Matt's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nowhere Land
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 2,318
QuoteOriginally posted by shiner Quote
Someone gave me this vivitar 80-200 f4, but even though he said it was PK, I don't believe it is a Pentax mount at all (not just a "flange" issue). What mount is it?






And that is a great example of images well displayed to aid in an answer to a question.

I have that very lens in a true Pentax K mount. It has been alter by having it's aperture lever cut off for metering in program modes. It was fun for about two weeks.
01-10-2011, 11:07 PM   #13
Site Supporter
shiner's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N GA USA
Photos: Gallery | Albums
Posts: 1,458
Thanks! I think I'll return it to my friend.
01-10-2011, 11:26 PM   #14
Pentaxian




Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 2,450
The major problem with manual zoom will be the SR. You will have to set focal length everytime you rotate the zoom unlike manual primes where you just have to set it once,
01-11-2011, 02:14 AM   #15
Veteran Member




Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern England
Posts: 495
Or try this:

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/119297-what-fo...al-zoom-2.html

(Sorry to keep repeating this link!)
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
camera, dslr, kit, lens, money, photography
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slr pentax lens... work in a dslr? CEWren Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 16 09-02-2010 06:23 AM
For Sale - Sold: Pentax k1000 w/ 50mm f2, ZX50, Vivtar 3p filter cambridge Sold Items 4 05-13-2010 01:21 PM
Nikon to Pentax Lens Adapter- Does it Work? seachunk2 Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 19 05-06-2010 10:16 AM
Why Pentax F TC X1.7 not work on M42 lens? RTogog Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 4 11-23-2009 05:48 AM
Vivtar 200mm F3.5 - Olympus Mount - What to do? cdurfor Pentax SLR Lens Discussion 6 08-08-2009 09:29 AM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top