Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-29-2010, 12:21 PM   #1

Which Pentax for high ISO?

I've searched the forum and didn't find an answer, but I'm a relative newb. If I missed a relevant thread, please point me to it.

I have read many users extolling the virtues of high ISO shooting with the latest Pentax models. But I can't find any direct comparisons of the various models' noise levels (except one user who did a magnificent job of showing that the K-R is only slightly better than the K-X).

I'd love an excuse to buy a K-5, but it's 3x the current price of a K-X. Would it give me significantly better low-light performance?

Lately I've had to photograph school concerts and other activities with very poor available light. I have been using the K20d in RAW mode and performing PP with Noise Ninja.

Thanks for your help.

12-29-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Save yourself the time and effort, just go buy a K-5, it is definatly the high ISO king
12-29-2010, 02:24 PM   #3
hcc
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by jblocher@mac.com Quote
I'd love an excuse to buy a K-5, but it's 3x the current price of a K-X. Would it give me significantly better low-light performance?
There is some confusion among several posters between Hgh-ISO and low-light photography. While I appreciate you want an 'excuse' for buying a new body, let us not confuse the real issue.

For low-light photography, you need a lens with a large aperture to get maximum light onto the camera sensor. That is, you want a fast prime lens, where 'fast' = large aperture (low f) and 'prime' = single focal length. There are several nice fast primes and a classical example is around 50mm & f1.4.

Do yourself a favor: if you buy a new body, make sure that you save enough mony left to buy also a fast prime lens (f1.4).
12-29-2010, 02:27 PM   #4
Veteran Member