Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
Inactive Account

K-r and M series lenses in aperature mode

I am new to DSLR, but a longtime Pentax user from my college years in the 70's. I have a number of M series lenses and a K-r on order. My understanding is that the camera body will assume the lens is set at the largest aperture if shooting in aperture control mode. Wil you get proper exposures if you go up an f/stop or 2 and use EV +1 or +2?

01-02-2011, 03:51 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum!

If the k-r works the same as the k-x, then no: the exposure is with fully open aperture no matter what is set with the aperture ring. However, in M-mode the green button can be used to briefly close the aperture to the ring setting, take a meter reading and set the shutter time to match for you. In M-mode the lens is also stopped-down to the aperture set on the ring for exposure so with this things work pretty nicely with M-series lenses.

Last edited by jolepp; 01-02-2011 at 05:06 PM. Reason: typo fix
01-02-2011, 05:00 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Aperture Priority (Av) with K/M lenses will not stop the aperture down. If you want to shoot wide open however, it will do that (no EC needed). Anything later than that (A, F, FA, DA, DA*, DFA) however all work fine in Av. To use your manual lens (to get started) discover where the stop down metering occurs. On all of my cameras, it has been with the green button. From what I understand however, that button on your camera can be mapped for several things (as it can on the K5 but it's mapped for different priority and still is used for stop down metering in M mode).

Enjoy your new camera and welcome aboard!

01-02-2011, 05:21 PM   #4
Veteran Member

I am so new I am still trying to figure out which camera the k2000 is.