Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-02-2007, 05:58 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Shutter speed?!

Hey everyone. I recently purchased my K100D about 2 weeks ago and have been playing with it a lot. I photographed some rally race photos over the weekend and i had a bit of a problem getting the frame to freeze. I wanted to use a shutter speed between 500 and 1000 with a low aperture but the pictures came out very dark. Now i know i have to decrease the shutter speed but what is the point of the camera having the ability to have such a high shutter speed but the limitations of hardly ever using it? I guess the better question is how do i use a higher shutter speed? I was using a standard 18-55mm Pentax lens that came with the package.

This kind of goes hand in hand with what was posted a few threads down but i am a super newb at this. I have done photography before but I'm trying to inch my way at getting pretty good.

Your help would greatly be appreciated and any extra advice you have would also. thanks, justin

10-02-2007, 06:44 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Proper exposure is a balance between shutter speed, aperture, and sensitivity (ISO setting). All three are related and each is dependent on the others. Therefore, if you adjust one, you must also adjust one or both of the others to maintain proper exposure. In the situation you described above, after increasing shutter speed, you likely also needed to adjust both aperture AND sensitivity to obtain proper exposure under the existing lighting conditions.

Since your question suggests very limited knowledge of the subject, I strongly urge you to purchase and carefully read a good book covering the basics of photography. Such a book would explain how to adjust those three things to obtain proper exposure.

You should also read your owners manual carefully to determine how the camera displays proper versus improper exposure settings in the various modes.