Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-04-2007, 08:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

colour shift on long exposures

I got my K10D about 4 days ago and I am generally pleased with the photos. I can tell by reading many of the posts that there are still many issues around picture quality, sharpness, resoloution, etc. to deal with. I am not new to photography but I am new to digital photography.

I have just discovered that long exposures (about 1/2-2 secs.) come out with a very blue, almost violet cast. I am attaching two photos to show the blue casting.

My question is, what is the best way to deal with this issue? I admit I was shooting in overcast light and that may account for some of the blue cast, but it looks rather severe to me. Theexposures were also way out from the cameras selection and I had to bracket toward underexposure.

JMR

Last edited by JMR; 10-08-2007 at 11:53 AM.
10-04-2007, 09:07 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
Can you give us some information as to your camera settings?

Honestly, they don't look overly blue to me, but they could stand a little warming up if that's your preference. If your using Auto White Balance (AWB) that would explain it. In my experience, and in reviews I've read, the AWB doesn't work as expected. The AWB setting in my Panasonic TZ3 works far better.

I've not had any problems regarding IQ and sharpness from my K10D, but that's because I always shoot RAW. The in camera jpeg processing is known to be a little more flat and soft than one would expect from a 10+ megapixel DSLR.

Hope this helps.
10-04-2007, 09:07 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Many things could be done. Use the channel mixer to drop the blue channel by 15-20%; or the curves dialog and set a neutral point.

QuoteOriginally posted by JMR Quote