Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-10-2011, 11:52 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
Pentax and 4/3 system

I don't know much about cameras. Except taking wildlife photos.
I am wondering if Pentax comes out with a 4/3 system will the k-mount lenses fit it and work with af?
If so that will be great. I looked at olympus and think within 10 years this is where I might head for light weight systems.

01-11-2011, 12:11 AM   #2
Veteran Member

The 4/3 system defines the mount, so to use a K-mount lens requires an adapter. I was being told yesterday they exist and work well (the chap was wanting me to buy his Macro lens) but I have no personal experience.
01-11-2011, 12:36 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Most likely not 4/3...

Unless there are some very secretive things going on at Pentax, I haven't heard or read anything about Pentax plans to release a 4/3 system format, nor any hints of such. That is not saying they wont release a mirrorless, small body camera similar to the Panasonic and Olympus m4/3 bodies. This rumor has been gaining ground over the past 6+ months and many are expecting Pentax to announce this new body, albeit APS-C sized sensor, by this Spring. If that turns out to be reality, expect any K mount lenses to work as normal.

Jason
01-11-2011, 01:40 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Jasvox Quote
Unless there are some very secretive things going on at Pentax, I haven't heard or read anything about Pentax plans to release a 4/3 system format, nor any hints of such. That is not saying they wont release a mirrorless, small body camera similar to the Panasonic and Olympus m4/3 bodies. This rumor has been gaining ground over the past 6+ months and many are expecting Pentax to announce this new body, albeit APS-C sized sensor, by this Spring. If that turns out to be reality, expect any K mount lenses to work as normal.

Jason