Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2007, 11:13 AM   #1

Exposure whith flash bounce

Hello

I recently upgraded my old Pentax PZ-20 to a K100D. At the same time I bought a AFG-360 flash.

I am a novice at using an external flash and especially at bouncing the flash.

Some shot I take with bouncing the flash are underexposed. some others are perfectly exposed.

The flash is set in PTTL mode. I was using P mode on the camera and I have linked the AE point to the AF point like it is suggested on this forum to get proper exposure when using the flash.

So the two questions I have are: 1) do I have to increase exposure compensation on the flash when bouncing? (I thought that in PTTL mode this would not be necessary) and 2) any good pointers on good informations on flash boucing technique?

thanks all.

Last edited by magenois; 10-14-2007 at 11:15 AM. Reason: typo
10-14-2007, 11:39 AM   #2
baw

Bounce flash..

I have the same setup and it gives good results normally.
You have to realise that when bouncing via eg. the ceiling only part of the light reaches the subject. The flash can only deliver it's maximum rated power, and when that is not enough under exposure will result

Same for long distance flash, when maximum power is not enough there is nothing P-TTL can do to regulate.
10-14-2007, 12:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

What baw says is correct.

If you make a small bounce card held on with a rubber band I think you'll have more luck, it will fill in shadows a bit and stop so much power being wasted in bounce mode. I use a 4cmx9cm white plastic strip mounted vertically behind the head, and may only have one or two cm showing, but it makes a big difference, faster recycling and more natural photos and it's adjustable in intensity by sliding the plastic up or down.
10-14-2007, 01:14 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by baw Quote
I have the same setup and it gives good results normally.