Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2011, 07:41 PM   #1

White balance problems with kx

I am new to dslrs. I have new KX and have white balance set to Auto. When taking pics indoors with kit lens, using P mode, I get very different colors/exposures when I focus camera on a different subject in the same room with the same light. I then try to change the white balance settings, but I still cannot get the wb to compensate. I have tried AE lock, that doesn't seem to help. Also get awful yellow tinges without using flash indoors, and I really have to fiddle with the settings to make any pics look good. I need help figuring out how to use the WB properly. It shoudn't be so hard; my point and shoot does a much better job with the WB than the KX. And I only bought the KX as I wanted nice pics indoors. I don't know if it's me or the camera, it is very frustrating!!

02-12-2011, 08:15 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Not sure what the problem could be, all modes on my K-X deliver the same WB results as each other when set to auto WB. I did notice that low light focus seems to be a little hit and miss and slugish when in P mode, but fast and accurate in auto pict mode like it should be. Have you tried setting the manual WB in those lighting conditions and running off a few test shots? Its pretty simple to do and the manual is easy to follow for this.
02-12-2011, 08:22 PM - 1 Like   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not to be mean but it's probably you. Try setting the WB to Tungsten for indoor lighting. That is if that is the type of light bulbs in the room. See page 182 in your manual. If you are using some other light source or mixed lighting, that will also mess with it. Exposure has nothing to do with WB.

You might also post a picture so we can see what's up and help you further.

02-13-2011, 01:56 AM   #4