Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2011, 03:46 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Shake Reduction on or off?

I've been experimenting taking shots of my dog running towards me. (just a project for future action shots!) I've played with faster Shutter Speeds (Tv) higher ISO 200-400, Continuous focus, spot metering and spot focusing and can't seem to get a sharp image. I'm using a Pentax 55-300 DA and zooming as he gets closer.
I'm wondering if the Shake reduction is slowing things up to the point that the loss of sharpness is because of it and not my movement of the camera.
I'd like to think I'm holding the K7 steady enough (I realize I am not a tripod) and that the higher shutter speed would "freeze" the image.

I'm still learning how best to use this amazing camera.. There are so many ways to tackle each shot....
I'd post an example, but I have deleted most of the ones I hated and then thought of asking you....

02-13-2011, 04:16 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think the 55-300 is the slowest (and noisiest) focussing lens I own.

You don't advise what shutter speeds you're using, I'd imagine you'd need at least 1/1500 for a running dog.

Other than the start-up period, I would not imagine the SR slows the photo-taking down.
02-13-2011, 04:18 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Hi Scott,

it's likely that the SR is not activating at all if you are focusing and shooting quickly. If you watch the bottom of your viewfinder, you'll see that it takes about half a second after focus lock is achieved for the SR ready icon to light up. (looks like a hand with a couple of lines on the side) If you post a couple images, it might help us to see whether the problem is camera shake, too slow a shutter speed or simply inaccurate focus. You might also want to try bumping the ISO higher yet...
02-13-2011, 04:34 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Arpe Quote