Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2011, 05:02 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Problem: K-7 slow to display review images

I have a used but now-to-me K-7 that's bugging me with one small problem. It takes 4-5 seconds after exposure for the review image to come up on the rear LCD. Other modern DSLRs I've owned take a second or less. The K-7's tardiness is consistent whether it's in RAW or JPG, 14 mpx or 2 mpx, with lens corrections/DR turned on and off. A faster SD card makes no difference, either.

Five seconds may not sound so long -- hey, it's quicker than a Polaroid! -- but multiplied over several hundred exposures per day, it could get exasperating.

Has anyone else observed this issue? I'm new to Pentax, and I don't want to ditch the brand over some small misadjustment, but this has to change.

02-13-2011, 06:09 PM   #2

that's weird...only happened to me when I had lens correction turned on. try resetting it to factory settings to see if it still does it.
02-13-2011, 06:39 PM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Highlight and/or shadow correction are other features that can slow down image review.
Ensure this feature is also turned off - in fact, turn off dynamic range, lens correction and highlight correction features, go back to RAW and see how that goes.
02-13-2011, 07:09 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Also the copyright info, make sure that's off too.

02-13-2011, 07:11 PM   #5
Site Supporter

Original Poster
Thanks, It's working now

QuoteOriginally posted by Ash Quote
Highlight and/or shadow correction are other features that can slow down image review.
Ensure this feature is also turned off - in fact, turn off dynamic range, lens correction and highlight correction features, go back to RAW and see how that goes.