Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2011, 01:10 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Focal length conversion

I have been using a K2000 for about 2 years now.
I have a Pentax 50mm 1:2 (prime) lens from my old 35mm film kit.
I'm a little confused about the conversion ratio when using this lens on the DSLR body. Although is works just fine, I don't feel like I'm getting optimal images from the lens.

When I attach it to the DSLR camera body, I'm asked to input the focal length via the camera dial but I'm not certain what the correct setting is?

Any thoughts, comments, or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

JD

02-26-2011, 01:13 PM   #2

I have been putting in 50mm
Mand
02-26-2011, 01:27 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
FL=FL=FL...

It May be the lens. On a dSLR, I've never been particularly impressed with the f2.0 50mm. Maybe that's just me as I'm sure a lot of people use them. Were I you, I'd sell the 2.0 and find a 1.7 to replace it. Infinitely better IMO.

02-26-2011, 01:28 PM - 1 Like   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

The exact focal length of the lens (50mm) is what should always be entered, but I would wager there's another reason for the unacceptable results. Would you post some examples of these?

02-26-2011, 01:33 PM - 1 Like   #5
Veteran Member

Oh boy, the crap factor confusion again. Forget you ever heard about 'equivalent' focal lengths and FL conversions. A 50mm lens is a 50mm lens, not matter what it's mounted on. Moving a lens from one camera to another, with a different frame size, does not change the lens. The amount of the image circle that the lens projects changes -- that's the 'crop'. But your camera's SR'bot only wants to know the actual focal length. It doesn't care what the field of view (FOV) is.