Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-26-2011, 02:10 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help me choose upgrade

Hi all,

Warning, kinda long -

I bought a K100D years ago. I was late to the DSLR party, still shooting my F3HP, FE, Pentacon and other older film cameras. It's time for me to finally get a better body - I'd love a K5 but it's not in the cards ($). I'm likely to buy a used K7 or K20D, maybe a Kx. Help me choose, please! Right now I'm feeling it's a tie for me between the K20D and K7.

If you've actually got experience between any two or even all three bodies, please lend me your experience. I'm an amateur, but like to think that I'm skilled. (I have a patent for a 3-CCD beam splitter prism used in high resolution line scan applications.)

Because I'm a bit of a Luddite, I jumped from Nikon to Pentax for the very reason that even the entry level Pentax DSLR supported all the old glass. I have a large inventory of old Nikkor glass that that would be useless unless I started with a pro grade camera.

Anyway, I've been collecting Pentax, Sigma EX and Tamron SP full frame lenses for the K100. Gotta be ready when that full frame CCD camera comes out! Now that I've got enough glass and I'm becoming more of a Pentaxian, it's time for a new body.

I've read the threads about high ISO differences, shortcomings (relative) or great performance between the K20D, K7 and KX. I don't really know which way to go.

What I'm looking for:

I shoot a lot of birds, a quieter shutter sure would be nice.

High ISO performance is nice, but relative, I used to lug around a 4x5 view camera! Also, I have a penchant for fast lenses so much of the glass that I've purchased for the K100 is f2.8 or faster. So performance even up to 1600 is fast for me (and anything above 800 in the K100 is nearly useless)