Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2006, 07:41 PM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I feel like using Raw is like cheating

Back when I used film and slides only, my best shots were controlled mostly by the exposure of the slide, so I knew if it was a great shot, it was because of my (limited ) talent.
now with raw, and all the great things I can do with it, I kind of feel like to much manipulation is like cheating..... but the other half of me says it isn't.

any one else feel this way on their conversion from slides/ negatives to digital?
I am sure it is going to go away the more I shoot digital

any thought on this matter is welcome!

cheers

12-10-2006, 07:51 PM   #2
pog

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by slipchuck Quote
... I kind of feel like to much manipulation is like cheating..... but the other half of me says it isn't.
I have zero film experience but here's my take on the whole post-processing thing: If it truly looks good on whatever medium you intend, it doesn't matter how you got there.
12-10-2006, 08:01 PM   #3
Inactive Account

I know it has been said here and other forums:
Ansel Adams then was a cheater. Raw is just a digital negative. How you process is the result you get. Even .jpg or tiff files get some processing to look better. I don't think that is cheating. We still do the best we can to get the correct exposure in camera, otherwise you have less information to deal with when you process RAW JPG TIF or anything else, right?
12-10-2006, 08:21 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There is no cheating unless you are say, a news photographer and you manipulate an image. Your work is like art, and therefore subject to the best tools available. If your intent is to deceive, then you are not an artist, but a crook.

12-10-2006, 08:23 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by pog Quote