Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-19-2011, 07:15 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
K-5 auto focus fine adjustment tools?

I am new to Pentax, and I have a K-5 and the Pentax 18-135 lens.
I am considering auto focus fine adjustment, not because I have seen any need for it - I am just curious if my lens focuses exactly right.
Now there are many tools around on Internet, both free and for a charge.
What tools are the best of these two kinds?

Sten

03-19-2011, 10:16 AM - 1 Like   #2

Photos: Gallery
Here is a link to pdf which is very useful
http://focustestchart.com/focus10.pdf
03-19-2011, 11:59 PM   #3

Original Poster
Acheron,
Thank you very much!
The document is quite interesting, and I will try this method.
Sten
03-20-2011, 12:45 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I tend to use the techniques on this page instead: AF microadjustment for the 1Ds mark III, 1D Mk3, 5D Mk2, 7D

03-20-2011, 04:11 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

You could also take a photo at 135mm f/5,6 of a curbstone at the other side of a road. It is then easy to see if there is front or back focusing.
03-20-2011, 09:03 AM   #6

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by StigVidar Quote
You could also take a photo at 135mm f/5,6 of a curbstone at the other side of a road. It is then easy to see if there is front or back focusing.
Thank you, StigVidar!

I tried your method first, because only minutes after I read about it, my wife took me out for a walk.
I then took pictures of a parking lot covered with small concrete squares, after placing two pencils of different colours at the same distance to focus on. The edges of the concrete squares provided a scale which should be most at focus where the pencils were. As you suggested, I used 135 mm/5.6, and had my camera at various distances from the pencils.
Looking at the pictures at home in my computer, I got a rough indication that my lens/camera combination focuses well.