Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-13-2011, 06:11 PM   #1

Anyone have experiece with the Ape Case ACPRO1700?

Amazon.com: Ape Case Sling Camera Bag ACPRO1700: Camera & Photo

Need a bag and leaning towards this one.

04-14-2011, 06:29 PM   #2

Original Poster
I guess nope. LOL.
04-18-2011, 10:06 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
it may be too late but I have this bag among others. I've used it a few times, which admittedly isn't a lot, but I have made some opinions on some things. First of all though, a frame of reference: I've been using the Lowepro Slingshot AW200 for several years now and have been quite happy with it. I decided to try out the Ape Case because it was bigger and had a place to mount a tripod to it.

The sling itself is padded more than the Slingshot, but I don't think it fits as well. It just seems as though there's not as much snugness in how the bag rests against my back. I keep feeling as though the Ape Case is loose. I may get used to it as I use it more, but I'd say it's not awful, but not as good as the lowepro.

As far as access to the camera and the lenses, I'd give a pretty big advantage to the lowepro. The way the camera goes into the Ape Case I find that the grip on the right side of the camera hits the right lens compartment, so I've found that the camera fits better upside down - of course this affects the speed from getting the camera out and in use. And then access using the side opening seems easier on the lowepro just because it's bigger and opens wider.

I do think I can carry more in the Ape - probably an extra medium size prime and a flash. But I wonder if the Slingshot 300 might have been a better choice. Overall, I like the Ape Case, but I'm not sure it's designed as well as the lowepro.
04-19-2011, 10:07 PM   #4

Original Poster