Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-29-2007, 02:00 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Saving Settings

Hello all, this is my first post. I have done a great deal of research on DSLR's and it seems that the K10D stands out as a remarkable photographic tool at a very reasonable price. My only concern is that many reviewers have commented on the K10D's soft or flat jpeg's from the default settings. I realize that by shooting RAW, none of the these concerns are applicable. However, while I look forward to learning to work with RAW, at this point I have no experience with CS3 or Camera Raw. Consequently, until I become proficient and my budget grows, I really need a camera that shoots outstanding JPEGs. My first question is whether most of you are happy with your JPEG results after adjusting the in camera settings such as changing from nature to bright or increasing sharpness and contrast levels. I guess I also need to ask whether you feel the comments by dpreview, camaralabs and others are accurate. Finally, I would like to know whether the camera saves your settings from the last use, such that once you have the camera dialed in to your tastes they essentially become the default settings. I greatly appreciate any hearing your thoughts.
Charlie

10-29-2007, 02:54 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery
There are numerous posts on this issue that can be read by doing a search of this site.
I shoot in both modes depending on the subject and have no problem getting the quality shot I want with JPEG using the K10D. Most folks who take the time to understand the camera and it's functions will have no problem getting the sharpness and saturation they want with this camera shooting in any mode it offers.
Kenn
10-29-2007, 03:22 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery
I don't want camera decide what to do (White balance, sharpness, contrast, saturation, noise reduction levels) my photos, so I shoot DNG only and I decide what to do and how much.