Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-30-2007, 07:30 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Upgrde from *ist DL2?

All,

I have an *ist DL2 that I have had for about 9 months and I haven't spent much time with it honestly. I am finding myself more and more interested in the hobby and wanting to learn more.

I have been shooting in RAW primarily and I am still learning about post processing and such, but I feel I don't really understand the basics of photography or composition.

My question is, should I upgrade to a new body right now with the rebates and all or spend my money on a better lens? I'm always up for new gadgets so I tend to lean towards a new body, but I nead some other opinions.

If I go with a new body, I want something that will last me a while so I am not considering doing this again in another 9 months. I can afford to do the K10D kit and any lenses will have to wait for a while.

Either way, what lenses would you guy recomend for someone getting started? I have been doing some reading on here and it seems the Tamron 18 - 250 is highly recommended for an all-around lense and something like a 28 - 75 f/2.8 might work great for an indoor lens...

Help!

10-30-2007, 08:27 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by rjg Quote
All,

I have an *ist DL2 that I have had for about 9 months and I haven't spent much time with it honestly. I am finding myself more and more interested in the hobby and wanting to learn more.

I have been shooting in RAW primarily and I am still learning about post processing and such, but I feel I don't really understand the basics of photography or composition.

My question is, should I upgrade to a new body right now with the rebates and all or spend my money on a better lens? I'm always up for new gadgets so I tend to lean towards a new body, but I nead some other opinions.
Help!