Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-27-2011, 05:59 PM   #1

???

hello...i am new to the DLSR world.....i own a pentax *istD S and would love to know what the best (reasonably priced) lens i can get to snap great pics of my kids?? i have a pentax FAJ 1:3.5 28-80mm that came with the camera but the pics turn out horrible...grainy...and yellow. please let me know what is best for my camera.
Thank you

04-27-2011, 06:22 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by kbaskett5 Quote
hello...i am new to the DLSR world.....i own a pentax *istD S and would love to know what the best (reasonably priced) lens i can get to snap great pics of my kids?? i have a pentax FAJ 1:3.5 28-80mm that came with the camera but the pics turn out horrible...grainy...and yellow. please let me know what is best for my camera.
Thank you
whichever lens comes with lessons about how to use your camera...also, you might want to title your thread something a little more descriptive of what the thread is about, lest people ignore it.
04-27-2011, 06:32 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Thank you

It may not be the lens.

First can you frame the picture alright?

In other words do you feel you always have to back away or get closer - or do you find you can more or less stay where you are from where you see your picture to take it.

If the latter then the lens focal length range is probably OK for you.

The other thing is do the pictures - despite being yellow and grainy look OK in terns of being sharp etc?

Again if so then the lens is probably OK.

Let's address the yellowness - I have to assume you are shooting in regular room lighting?

Then just try the lens camera combination outdoors in good (sun)light - do the pictures look OK then?

If so it is definitely NOT the lens that's the problem -