Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-31-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
Forum Member

Need "how to" help - K100d with SMC A lens

Got a Pentax K100d dSLR with the kit lens. Everything working well with that. But I also just bought an older SMC Pentax 'A' 28mm F4 lens.

I mounted it to check it out, but I can't take a picture. The camera turns on but I get these indications:
1. On the top exterior LCD by the on-off switch: Flashes "AV - -" (with the battery icon and number of shots remaining).
2. In the view finder: "F - -" and nothing else.

The lens mounted okay, and I thought I'd have to focus manually, which I can do, but I thought the exposure would function as it does with the kit lens (18-55mm).

So I need some help. I am a rookie if you have not already figured that out.....

10-31-2007, 06:06 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
It should expose as you were expecting IF you are using an "A" series lens with the aperture SET TO "A"

Give the electrical contacts on the lens a clean...they might be grubby.

You might want to check the name of the lens again...as far as I know Pentax never made a SMC-A 28mm f4
10-31-2007, 06:08 PM   #3
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Just turn the aperture ring on the lens to the "A" setting and test it again.
11-01-2007, 05:05 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Not sure about the A 28mm, but I know the A 50mm f/1.7 has issues where setting the ring to 'A' doesn't push out the little pin in the mount to tell the body "Hey, I'm set on A", so you could never really use the lens as an A lens. My first 50mm f/1.7 had this problem (so it was basically an "M" lens), my second one worked fine.

Check the mount and see if a little (TINY) pin is engaged when you go from f/22 to A.

11-01-2007, 05:39 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by pschlute Quote
It should expose as you were expecting IF you are using an "A" series lens with the aperture SET TO "A"