Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2011, 05:02 PM   #1

Pentax k-x and manual lenses

Hello I bought a Pentax K-X a week ago, its my first dslr and I dont have too much money now to invest in lenses;p. So I got it with kit and now Im thinking of adding Helios 44 F2 to my "collection". I need to buy the adapter from M42 to K-mount, but I wonder if I do that wil my camera still be able to tell me exposure? I mean normally I can see if (in M mode) my image is over exposed on under, and I am not a pro to know it without looking yet so I need that little diagram, after attaching old lenses will I still be able to see it working?

05-11-2011, 05:06 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, you will still be able to meter in M and Av. The procedure is outlined here: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-lens-articles/110657-how-use-meter...k-x-k-7-a.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
05-11-2011, 05:19 PM   #3

I have another question pertaining manual lens and a K-x that the link you gave doesn't answer. I stumbled into the topic of split-prism viewfinders, and after reading about it, I seem to have come to the conclusion that a split-prism is required to be able to use a manual lens more effectively with a K-x. Is this true?
05-11-2011, 05:25 PM   #4
Forum Member

They aren't required to manual focus. They help you focus better and thats it. There is no change in image quality, etc.

05-11-2011, 05:34 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums