Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-15-2011, 11:13 AM   #1

K-x Lense focus problem

I'm not sure if this is a camera problem or my problem.
After changing a lens and turning the camera on then pushing the shutter button half way, the focus motor whines and the lens does not focus.
I then press the lens release button, and turn the lens to reseat, sometimes more than once, then all is fine.
Any Ideas what this might be?
Is this common with this camera?
I'm a newbie at this.

Thanks
Mark

05-15-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by popellis Quote
I'm not sure if this is a camera problem or my problem.
After changing a lens and turning the camera on then pushing the shutter button half way, the focus motor whines and the lens does not focus.
I then press the lens release button, and turn the lens to reseat, sometimes more than once, then all is fine.
Any Ideas what this might be?
Is this common with this camera?
I'm a newbie at this.

Thanks
Mark
The little slot and driver can end up misaligned, I suppose... try just wiggling to focus and see if things snap in to place?

Also, with the lens off, turn the focus ring. Watch the drive slot on the back end of the lens - does that turn? Does the focus ring turn without resistance?

If all that is fine, the problem is with the camera. I've never encountered this... but maybe others have?

*ETA*
Another thought - the camera will refuse to move anything if it doesn't sense an autofocus lens attached. Given that it whines, it's probably detecting one... but it's possible that the lens contacts might be going bad.
05-15-2011, 06:22 PM   #3
Site Supporter