Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-09-2007, 09:18 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Pentax K10D Vs Olympus 510D

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi guys,

I'm about to make the leap from my trusty Canon Digital Elph Powershot S500 to the scary world of DSLR.
I've never used an SLR let alone a DSLR before, so would appreciate any advice you could give to a complete DLSR novice. As I said I have no photography knowledge so I apologise for an errors or omissions in my ramblings.

I've been comparing a few of the cameras in my price range and like the Pentax K10D and Olympus 510D.
Why no Nikon and Canon I can hear you muttering in the back of the class?
Well, from the cameras in my price range, I thought that the Nikon D40x felt really flimsy and cheap, and the Canon 400D very plasticky and it didn't have Image Stabilisation.
Now that I know what Image Stabilsation is I think I like it.
The Nikon D80 didn't have dust removal, and I think I certainly need that.
No Sony? I thought the Sony Alpha 100 was a little ugly.

OK, so I'm now down to the Olympus 510D And Pentax K10D....

Why the Pentax?
Again, I'm no exert but its build quality alone made it stand out. The weatherproofing means I can take it hiking and fishing, and this corner of England is the rainiest place on the planet! Perhaps not, but as I look out of my window it can't be far off. Also, I liked the weight. It all seemed so solidly made compared to everything else in my price range.
Against the Pentax? No scene modes. But do I need them? I don't know yet. Will it be too advanced for me?

Why the Olympus?