Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-06-2011, 09:35 AM   #1

k10d

Ok so i have sme more questions for you guys with camera know how i see people knocking the low light problems with the k10d
i will mainly using it outside most of the time but would like to use it inside at auto shows also , what would i want to do to get better pics my idea would be to keep the lense open longer,correct but does this cause a problem with being able to hold the camera still long enough? I am a very novice beginner am i even going to notice this in my pics at all or not

thanks
john

06-06-2011, 10:22 AM   #2

Hello John,

you are right that with longer exposure time, images tend to get blurry if handheld.

There's a rule of thumb that says that your exposure time should be smaller then 1 divided by your focal length; i.e. if you have a 50mm lens, then make sure your exposure is below 1/50 of a second. Of course this depends on the photographer and his ability to hold still. I prefer to use an exposure well below this rule, just to make sure!

You may not always notice if your images are blurry on the tiny LCD screen, even if you zoom in. So make sure to take a lot of pictures, that way chances are great that a few of them will be sharp!

What you can do is take a tripod with you (if you have one). Maybe try to shoot a few pictures at home, so you get the feeling.

Michael
06-06-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
John,

I do not know anything about the k10d. But even if it gets knocks for low light performance remember that people took photos in low light for a long time before the k10d came out. There may be better low light options now, but that does not mean the k10d will not work. You have to learn to take pictures with the equipment you have.